Working for birds in Africa

Important Bird Areas

Thu, 01/24/2013 - 11:15 -- abc_admin

La Réunion supports 4 endemic land bird species of which one is threatened. In addition, 3 landbird species are shared only with Mauritius. All seven of these species are restricted range which defines the Réunion Endemic Bird Area (EBA). Additionally, there are 3 further species of conservation concern of which 2 are petrel species plus Madagascar Marsh Harrier Circus maillardi which is shared with Madagascar and the Comores.

Iles Eparses support large populations of boobies, tropicbirds, frigatebirds and terns.

There are 12 Important Bird Areas (IBAs) in total of which 8 are in La Réunion island itself and cover 216 km2 or 9% of the land surface and the remaining 4 of Iles Eparses cover around 40 km2 or 89% of the land surface. The site names and the administrative regions of the 12 IBAs are as follows:

Piton des Neiges—Gros Morne Salazie, Saint-Louis
Grand Bénard—Tapcal Saint-Louis, Saint-Paul
Plaine des Chicots—Plaine d’Affouches Saint-Denis
Mouth of the Cirque de Salazie Bras Panon, Salazie
Rivière des Marsouins—Grand Etang Saint-Benoit
Grand Bassin—Le Dimitile Entre-Deux, Le Tampon
Rivière des Remparts—Rivière Langevin Saint-Joseph
Ravine de la Grande Chaloupe Saint-Denis, La Possession
Tromelin Iles Eparses
Ile du Lys, Glorieuses Archipelago Iles Eparses
Juan de Nova

Iles Eparses

Europa Iles Eparses

For further details, download the country IBAs from BirdLife International.

Copyright © African Bird Club. All rights reserved.
UK registered charity 1184309


Web site designed and built by