Working for birds in Africa


Mon, 01/14/2013 - 15:27 -- abc_admin

Equatorial Guinea is a tiny country in West Africa with a mainland section, Rio Muni and 5 inhabited islands in the Gulf of Guinea. Two of these islands, Bioko (formerly Fernando Po) and Annobón, form part of a chain of extinct volcanoes with São Tomé and Príncipe. The capital of Equatorial Guinea is Malabo on the island of Bioko which is 34 km from the Cameroon mainland. The island of Annobón is the smallest island in the chain and is 565 km south-west of Bioko and 340 km from the mainland of Gabon. The two islands of São Tomé and Príncipe are a separate country and lie between Bioko and Annobón.

Equatorial Guinea has a total land area of 28,051 km2 and an estimated population of about half a million. Rio Muni borders Cameroon and Gabon and has a coastline of 296 km. The climate is tropical and it is always hot and humid. The land elevation is from sea level to the highest point Pico Basile at 3,008 m on Bioko. Both Spanish and French are official languages. More details can be found at CIA Factbook.

Copyright © African Bird Club. All rights reserved.
UK registered charity 1184309


Web site designed and built by