Working for birds in Africa


Mon, 01/14/2013 - 13:28 -- abc_admin

The Comoro archipelago comprises four islands. Ngazidja (Grande Comore), Mwali (Mohéli) and Ndzuani (Anjouan) became independent in 1975 and today form the Union des Comores Republic (UDC), whereas Maore remained under French administration as Collectivité territoriale de Mayotte (now Collectivité départementale) but is claimed by the Union. From an ornithological perspective, the four islands represent an area of high endemism and it makes sense to cover them together. 

The forests are important for endemic bird conservation, and some other sites as the fresh water lakes Dziani Karehani, Dziani Boundouni and Lac Dzialandze for visiting migratory birds, some on their way from Africa to Madagascar, such as Madagascar Squacco Heron Ardeola idae and sometimes for large numbers of Little Grebe Tachybaptus ruficollis. Some migratory birds such as the Madagascar Heron Ardea humbloti and possibly Eleonora's Falcon Falco eleonorae are of world importance; other interesting species are Crab-plover Dromas ardeola from the Horn of Africa, but there are also good numbers of Palearctic waders at the coast and tropical terns, mostly far out at sea.

There is much of interest for the birder to see in the Comoros so one can hope that opportunities to visit increase in the future. The purpose of this document is to provide a summary of the Comoros and its birds for birders interested in the country and potentially planning a visit. The information has been put together by Michel Louette. Readers are welcome to submit contributions by e-mail [email protected]

Copyright © African Bird Club. All rights reserved.
UK registered charity 1184309


Web site designed and built by