Working for birds in Africa


Thu, 01/03/2013 - 11:48 -- abc_admin

Algeria Desert

Image Credit: 
Aïssa Moali

The People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria is the tenth-largest country in the world, the largest in Africa and around the Mediterranean with a land area of 2,381,741 km2 and an estimated population in 2018 of about 44.2 million. The country is a semi-presidential republic consisting of 48 provinces and 1,541 communes (counties). The maximum north-south and east-west distances are both about 2,000 km. Algeria is located in northern Africa between Morocco and Tunisia and borders the Mediterranean Sea (with a coastline of about 1,350 km) as well as Libya, Mali, Mauritania, Niger and Western Sahara. The terrain is mostly high plateau and desert with some mountains and a narrow, discontinuous coastal plain. The highest point is Tahat at 2,918 m above sea level.

Geographically, the country can be divided into four distinct regions of topography and climate in parallel bands running roughly south-west to north-east. From the Mediterranean southwards, these are as follows: the Tell region, including the coastal strip and the Tell Atlas mountains ; the ‘Hauts Plateaux’; the Saharan Atlas mountains ; the Sahara desert, the latter covering more than 85% of the country.

The climate is arid to semi-arid with mild, wet winters and hot, dry summers along the coast. The high plateau is drier with cold winters and hot summers. The sirocco is a hot, dust and sand-laden wind especially common in summer. The official language is Arabic and Berber but French is used in administration, business and education, different dialects are spoken. The religion is Islam.
More details can be found at

Copyright © African Bird Club. All rights reserved.
UK registered charity 1184309


Web site designed and built by