Working for birds in Africa

The number of species in the wattle-eye genus Dyaphorophyia

p 18-23

The wattle-eyes in the genus Dyaphorophyia are considered to comprise either four or six species. This difference is due to the treatment of the taxa blissetti, chalybea and jamesoni, which are variously considered to be a single species comprising three subspecies, or three separate species. This paper discusses the arguments pro (principally the morphological differences and elevational parapatry of two taxa) and contra specific status (their similar juvenile plumages, individual variation in vocalisations and the similar level of morphological differences exhibited amongst subspecies of a closely related species), and suggests that, for now, it is preferable to recognise just one species, despite the arguments in favour of recognising all three taxa as allospecies.

Copyright © African Bird Club. All rights reserved.
UK registered charity 1184309


Web site designed and built by